5 Arguments Against Buying Followers

So agree, buying followers is a no win situation as is clicking on your own blog to inflate numbers when you only have a handful of followers. Too obvious and such a waste of perfectly good time in my opinion. This was some validating reading I just had to share, enjoy.

Elyse Bruce

We’ve all seen the offers on social media claiming that for just pennies a day, you can enjoy the luxury of appearing to have thousands of followers for your accounts.  In a world that seems obsessed with quantity over quality and manufactured friends and followers over hard-earned friends and followers, the option to buy more followers can be found at every turn.

Don’t do it.

You Have To Have Numbers To Be Impressive

Contrary to popular belief, having thousands of followers while impressive, isn’t always good for your brand … especially if they aren’t real people who are interested in you and your product or service.  They will make those numbers look nice, but they aren’t going to become engaged followers, and they certainly aren’t going to buy your product or service.  They are useless followers at best, and dangerous followers at worse.

People Will Think You’re Successful

Other businesses…

View original post 500 more words

19 thoughts on “5 Arguments Against Buying Followers

  1. BUYING FOLLOWERS? Heck, 70% of “new” followers are trying to sell me something!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh my goodness….I am so naïve…..It had not crossed my mind that ‘buying followers’ was out there! There’s just nowhere we can be confident anymore! Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Twitter seems to be the hotspot for buying followers but I am sure it is not the only online place a person can do. It blows my mind that people would stoop to that but they must or the “sellers” would vanish, I think.

      Like

  3. Whatever happen to the good old days when being unpopular was cool. On that note I leave you with this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxha1IUsSPI it seems appropriate.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My blog has over 1800 followers. I don’t know how many of those actually read what I post, because only about 1% of that number ever click ‘like’. I don’t worry about stats too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hear you, Marie, the same is true of my blog, only a small percentage “engage.” But that’s okay by me, I was never and will never be here to garner followers. If what I write only ever connects with one heart, that’s good enough for me. Writing is, as are all arts, a tough gig. All of my life I have said if someone finds a trunk of my bletherings after I die and says “wasn’t she brilliant,” that will do nicely. Not that I don’t try in this life, just that I don’t fret over it. Maybe I should, lol, I might write better 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Robynne Black

    Do not lead, I will not follow, Do not follow, I will not lead, just walk beside me and be my friend… Haha… I had no idea you could ‘buy’ followers.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post. Totally agree. I don’t believe in buying anything, or worrying over anything that way. Jenni, writing is a tough gig in a brutal biz, just you stay true to your heart x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wiser words were never dropped here! Thank you for the reminder to stay true to ourselves. With only ten original plots according to Christopher Vogler, we really must have our own unique voice. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely. I may not be writing in my chosen genre but I do it my way, the hell with anything less. SO when it comes to true words, look what you’ve just said x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lol. Oh the irony. Lol. I think it was Mordecai Richler, bless his now heavenly heart, who said we are on the whole, irony deficient. Love your comments and your writerly support. Always here for you, too, in any way I can be. Write on! 😊

        Like

  7. artseafartsea

    Buying followers sounds crazy to me. Hope I never get that desperate. Enjoyed the post! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. If someone follows me and offers to sell me followers, I block them. As far as I’m concerned, they are spammers!

    Liked by 1 person

Love and peace to you... your thoughts are always welcome here...

