What is the meaning of life?

This often asked question can spiral us into examining our lives and trying to find the answer somewhere in there. After many decades of wondering and observing our world myself, I arrived at an answer that still sticks with me. The meaning of life to me is love.

Love, love, love.

There is no other purpose, to me, than living for love. Love does not necessarily mean romantic love, it means having someone love you, even just one person or you loving one person.

If you are loved by just one person, your life has meaning. If you love just one person, your life has meaning.

If no one loves you, your life can still have meaning because you may be passionate about something in your life. A creative pursuit, a career pursuit or an activity from surfing to sailing and everything in between.

If you don’t love anyone, maybe you love something in your life that takes up your time and attention, an artistic or musical pursuit or building your business up or leaving a legacy for a foundation or a person you care for.

So no matter what we may question about the meaning of life, for me it always comes back to the love. Being loved, loving, loving life, loving our worlds, always the love.

What are your thoughts on the meaning of life and love?

 

(c) Janni Styles

 

 

17 thoughts on “What is the meaning of life?

  1. As the Beatles’ song says, “All you need is love.” Those words carried me through a few past life issues. John Travolta’s movie, “Michael,” also triggered the same sentiment. Love your post, Janni. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. For me, the meaning of life is giving my love for my Lord first, then to my Prophet Muhammad, before I love my my parents n others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you’ve said them Janni. Lovely post xxxxxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The meaning of life for me, is not only the love that I have for my friends and family, but first and foremost, the love I have for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. For me, the meaning of life is the experience of being alive which is a quote from Joseph Campbell. But what is it that gives you that real experience in all of life’s many situations, and that is love…

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I used to believe this, but so many people who say it (I don’t mean you) still have no concept of justice.

    Liked by 1 person

Love and peace to you... your thoughts are always welcome here...

