Treasure Maps: Can vision boards lead to realizing your future?

Years ago after reading some books by Shakti Gawain, a new age writer who talked a great deal about “creative visualization,”  my mum-in-law and I were both inspired to start using “treasure maps” or “vision boards” to create our futures. Not only did we find this an effective means of keeping our life goals in front of us but it also helped us refine our needs and grow more attuned to what we truly wanted.

As time went by we shared what was happening in our worlds and the “treasure maps” were definitely helping. Many of our goals were realized and some of those in far less time than we had anticipated. From new job(s) to new wheels to world travel and relationships, our lives were definitely improving by keeping our goals in front of us.

When I was fifteen years old I hadn’t heard of anything like treasure maps or vision boards. I loved to draw house plans and pretend I was living in the homes I created. One of my very first creations was a modest three bedroom one bathroom rancher on it’s own lot with a fenced yard. You may not believe this but the very first house I ever owned (co-owned) was a 12 year old three bedroom one bathroom rancher on a nice big lot with a fenced yard.

Did my fifteen year old self create this home as part of my future when I was in my mid-thirties? Perhaps the very act of just getting things down on paper where we can see it creates an energy the moves us closer to our goals.

My vision boards to date have proven quite accurate. In 2007 I taught some nieces of mine how to do their own vision boards and it wouldn’t surprise me if they have realized a lot of their goals or dreams already.

To do this is very simple. I use a bristol board or a half of one and cut out images from old magazines that reflect my goals. You can also cut out words or symbols or draw or paint on your board or use your own photographs, it is entirely up to you.

One thing I always do on my vision boards is put spirituality right at the top and center of my board. I believe we can do nothing without the abiding presence of Our Creator and the Angels who guard and guide us. Your spirituality may be very different from mine and you don’t have to include it if you don’t want to. A photo of an ornate cross was what I used one year and another year I just pasted on clouds of the heavens.

Anyway, I think I have been neglecting my writing and my vision boards and need to get back to both which is what prompted this post. Let me know if you do one and if I can find where I put mine – for safe keeping of course, haha – I will take a picture of one and add it to this piece.

Who knew that my fifteen year old self could attract exactly the house she had drawn into her thirty something life? I know, I know, you might be saying it’s not possible. But what if it is? Rather, what if it was?

Happy goal setting, treasure mapping and vision boarding.

(c) Janni Styles

12 thoughts on “Treasure Maps: Can vision boards lead to realizing your future?

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤ As always truth and beauty, YOTAKI BEAUTYWALK

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not heard of this but it’s very interesting. I may have to try it… Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry to use a pin but I think your 30 something you and been thinking about your 15 or so you for 15 years and unconsciously sought and obtain a object you liked for a lot of years. I’m not saying this is what was at the fore front of your mind but I don’t think your were prophesying at 15 as much as you were programmed by 30. It is more like you gravitated towards what you’d always liked in the first place.

    The Boards sound like fun though and a really good way to keep your goals honed down and AT the fore front of your mind. My mind MUSH and my focus is a no show; so I’m thinking of trying this. Need a goal first though. I doubt I should consider writing given my blog. ~~dru~~

    Liked by 1 person

    • You may be right, who knows. Though I have had hundreds of things realized from years of doing vision boards. It may be simply that keeping our goals in front of us may increase our focus on them and thereby increase the odds of success in reaching them. I hope you won’t stop blogging. Having this place to write when my writing has dried up is often a kickstart for me, gets my creativity fired up again even if I can only muster up a haiku.

      Like

  4. Hmm.. An interesting question. I sometimes would say I am going to do this when I was younger and these things happened. I didn’t have aboard but I think we do map out certain things. Of course I could have said these things and they didn’t happen cos my life was on a different path. However I hope to see you back to your writing my darling so get that board done

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think this idea is definitely worth a try. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Love and peace to you... your thoughts are always welcome here...

